What animals need to be vaccinated?
It is New York State law that ALL
dogs, cats, and domestic ferrets be vaccinated against rabies after they reach the age of 4 months. Animals must remain up to date on rabies vaccination AT ALL TIMES.
What you need to know about Ontario County Rabies Vaccination Clinics
- Ontario County clinics are for both previously vaccinated and unvaccinated dogs, cats, and domestic ferrets.
- Kittens, puppies, and young ferrets must be at least 3 months of age in order to be vaccinated.
- Rabies vaccine is a "killed" virus vaccine.
- Vaccine is administered by a licensed Doctor of Veterinary Medicine.
- The recommended schedule for dogs and cats is:
- 1st rabies vaccine: at 3-4 months of age (any age over 3 months if vaccine status is unknown)
- 2nd rabies vaccine: 12 months after the first. This boosts the immune system.
- 3rd rabies vaccine: 3 years after the second.
- Fully vaccinated dogs and cats need a booster every 3 years to maintain protection and to comply with New York State Law.
- Ferrets require rabies vaccination EVERY year.
- County clinics are free. Donations are appreciated and help defray the cost of holding clinics and purchasing vaccine.